top of page

Flashing or Programming ESP8266

Updated: Aug 6, 2023

In this tutorial, we will be looking at how to flash or program our ESP8266. It is important to use the latest programs in our ESP8266 so that the tool can function optimally without any issues.


To flash the ESP8266, we are using ESP01 USB Programmer Adapter as shown below :


ESP8266 can be easily connected to this adapter for updating or flashing program.

We need to have a certain tool or application to update the program in our ESP8266. For my ESP8266 that I have purchased, I have gotten my tool from the link below :



I have gotten this link from my local vendor. It is always important to buy our electronic parts from a reliable vendor so that you can get necessary supports that you need after the purchase.


Once I have download the tool and extracted it, then you can open the flash application. My flash application is as shown below :

Select the above options, then you'll have the Flash Tool shown below:

Before flashing, there are few fields that you need to update in the tool.


In the first row of the flash download tool, you need to set the directory to the ".bin" file. In my case, my bin file looks something like this "Cytron_ESP-01S_AT_Firmware_V2.2.0.bin". This file will be available in the downloads as well. In the adjacent column, you need to key in 0x00.


Select the right COM in which your programmer adapter is connected to. You can get the right COM by checking the Ports in your Device Manager.


Apart from that, you also need to configure the below settings :

  • SPI SPEED: 40MHz

  • SPI MODE: DIO

  • DoNotChgBin: Tick

Once all the settings are done, your flash tool will look like this :

Then, click START. While updating the flash program, you can see the progress status displayed at the bottom of the tool as shown below :

When completed, the status will simply changed to FINISH.

With that, you have now successfully flashed or updated the program in your ESP8266.


For more detailed instruction, feel free to check out my YouTube video :


Comentarios


bottom of page